[Dedicant Path Requirement] Imbolc 2014

If I had to choose one word to describe my Imbolc ritual, it would be nerve-wracking. It was my first-ever solitary High Day done with the COoR.
I began with a chant and censed myself and my ritual space. Then, I made my offering to the Earth Mother and established the fire, well, and tree on my altar. I asked Lugh to be present as my gatekeeper before opening the gates and inviting the Kindreds. I invoked Brighid as the deity of the occasion, and made offerings to her – both of physical things and of promised actions. Then I took the omen – my two questions were, “Have I done rightly?” And “What must I now do?” I drew a seven of pentacle so for the first and a two of cups for the second.
Then I asked for the blessing – that I would honor my ancestors, the gods, and the spirits, and that they would look kindly on my and witness the vows I planned to make.
The working was the part of the ritual I was most worried about,but also the part I felt to be most necessary. I have felt a very strong call to the gods, the ground, and my people from a very young age, but I had never formally dedicated myself to this calling. Since Imbolc is a time of transition and purification!I chose to make that dedication as part of my rite.
When I finished, I knelt, thanked and drank to all those present, closed the gates, and then declared the rite closed.
I tripped up on the order a couple times, but there were no major mishaps; for my first solitary ADF-style high day, I think it went very smoothly. I had fasted during daylight hours for four days prior to Imbolc, and this added an unexpected but noticeable focus to my preparation and the ritual itself. I had also begun offering regularly to Brighid in early January, and it was kind of surprising to me how much this affected my comfort level in inviting her to be present at the rite; it brought the idea of reciprocal relationships into a whole new focus for me.

About November Jones

November Jones lives in a small but very colorful house with three cats and her very noisy partner, codename: Batman.

Leave a Reply

